Perhaps my strongest passion in life is to learn; to gain as much knowledge as I possibly can. I used to think that the only way to do this is through attending school. So not true. Everything we do, in some way or another, is a learning experience. I really do want to go back to school to earn my Master’s degree, but my looming obligations (undergrad student loan debt, rent, your other standard pain-in-the-ass bills) currently forbid it. Instead, I’ve turned to reading.
I’ve always loved books and book stores (I consider B&N my personal sanctuary), but I’ve never consciously made enough time in my life for reading. In my earliest attempts to create peace in my life, I decided I needed to allot more time for my hobbies, or passions, or just “me” time. This is a lot easier said than done – I still haven’t found the time nor energy to create the charcoal cherry blossom drawing I’ve been imagining for years, practice yoga regularly, or meditate every day – but I quickly realized how simple it was to make time for reading. I carry a book on my lunch break; I read as the boyfriend and I relax on the sofa in the evenings; I devour a chapter or two before bed time now instead of watching E! News (my guilty pleasure). I’ve read more books in the past three months than I think I have in the past three years. It feels wonderful.
My latest reads consist of:

I intend for this blog to serve as a catalyst for disseminating a love of reading to the masses.

“The man who does not read good books has no advantage over the man who can’t read them.”  ~Mark Twain, attributed

